Board of Directors

The Society is run by a Board of Directors, whose principal functions are to determine the group's strategy and policies, to establish guidelines and to review business performance and its management.

We also operate a number of sub-committees to look after specific issues.

Get to know our Directors below.

James Ramsbotham


joined the board in 2006 and was appointed Chairman in April 2013. James is Chief Executive of the North East Chamber of Commerce. He is Chairman of the Nominations Committee.

Alison Thain OBE

Vice Chairman

joined the Society as a non-executive director in October 2011. She has worked in affordable housing for over 30 years and is Group Chief Executive of Stockton-based Thirteen Group the largest housing association in the North East. She is Chairman of Darlington Homes Ltd and the Remuneration committee.

Colin Fyfe

Chief Executive

was appointed Chief Executive of the Society in April 2014 having worked in a senior capacity for Clydesdale Bank, Yorkshire Bank and National Australia Group. Colin chairs ALCO and Credit Committee and is a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Andrew Gosling

Non-Executive Director

became a non-executive director of the Society in 2011 following his retirement from Yorkshire Building Society where he was Finance Director. Andrew is Chairman of the Audit & Compliance Committee.

Christopher White

Finance Director

joined the Society in 2012 as General Manager - Finance before being appointed as Finance Director in February 2015. A chartered accountant as a member of The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. He is a member of ALCO, Credit & Operational Risk Committees as well as being a Pension Trustee.

Jack Cullen

Non-Executive Director

joined the Society as non-executive director in January 2015. Jack is Chairman of the Board Risk Committee.

Kate Davies

Non-Executive Director

Kate joined the Society in 2011 as a non-executive director, having spent much of her career with the Building Societies’ Association and Council of Mortgage Lenders. She currently chairs the Property Codes Compliance Board and is the Standards Officer for the Equity Release Council. She is a member of the Society’s Board Risk Committee.

Robert Cuffe

Non-Executive Director

was appointed a non-executive director of the Society in April 2013. He is Chairman of the Society’s Pension Trustees and is a member of the Board Risk Committee.

Want to speak to a friendly staff member?

Sometimes it's easier to discuss things face-to-face. All our branches have staff ready and waiting to talk. If you’d like to discuss your options or you think you need help, call in at your local branch.

Branch finder

Alternatively call our enquiries line between:

9am and 5pm Monday to Friday or
9am and 12pm on Saturday

Our staff will be more than happy to help with any questions or queries