Published on: 23 February 2022

This year’s Darlington Building Society Staff Awards once again provided a platform to showcase the talent and spirit from right across the business in the last year.

The wide-ranging accolades spanned from long-term service awards to rising stars, inspirational leaders to collective team honours.

A number of winners were chosen by colleagues, who all had the opportunity to nominate their champions for each category in an anonymous survey.

For the second year running the awards took place remotely as the Society, like everyone, continues to navigate its way out of the pandemic.

Andrew Craddock, Darlington Building Society Chief Executive staff awards

Andrew Craddock, Darlington Building Society Chief Executive

Chief Executive, Andrew Craddock commented:

“The annual staff awards are a real source of pride for the Society. We get to celebrate those who have stood out for the right reasons over the past year.

“The stories that come from these awards are what I find really powerful, and add colour and life to what it means to be a part of Darlington Building Society. Branch staff visiting members to help them navigate difficult times. New starters going out of their way to help other colleagues’ IT issues before fully getting to grips with their own role. Colleagues being the glue keeping everyone connected and making the return to the office post-pandemic as seamless as possible.

“Darlington Building Society is brimming with talent and passion, so it is fantastic to see such achievements being recognised.

“Following a temporary digital hiatus, I look forward to welcoming staff in person to next year’s event.”




This year’s winners list includes:

Outstanding Long Service Awards:
30 years: Brian Wilson
20 years: Sue Snee and Kath Rickaby
10 years: Christopher White and Josh Palin

Making A Difference Awards:

Approachable: Selina Todd

Genuine: Michael Murphy

Helpful: Chloe Baldwin

Inspiring: Amy Burney

Knowledgeable: Michael Walton

Passionate: Joanne Craggs

Overall Make a Difference Champion: Nicola Hogan

 The following awards were voted for by staff

Community Champion: Nicki Tweddle

Team of the Year: IT

Branch of the Year: Barnard Castle

DBS Rising Star – Head Office: Michelle Boldison

DBS Rising Star – Branch: Amy Walker

Exceptional One-Off Contribution: Trish Brown

Inspirational Leader: Louise Thorpe

If you’d like to learn more about life at Darlington Building Society, please visit the ‘Working Life’ section of our website: Working life – Darlington Building Society